No. 151: EQT Quetzalcoatl Sneaker Mask

EQT Quetzalcoatl Mask by Freehand Profit
The 151st sneaker mask created by Freehand Profit. Made from a single pair of adidas “Oddity Luxe” EQTs. Find out more about the work on FREEHANDPROFIT.com.

Quetzalcoatl is a Mesoamerican deity who dates back before the Mayan and Aztec cultures, his name translated from the Nahuatl language means “feathered serpent”. Also known as La Serpiente Emplumada (The Plumed Serpent), worship of Quetzalcoatl at Teotihuacan was first recorded in 1st Century BC. Quetzalcoatl was a God of wind and wisdom.

WEB 151 EQT Quetzalcoatl Mask 17

“When I first found out I was going to be traveling to Mexico City and would have a chance to visit the pyramids and temples at Teotihuacan I was thrilled. Ancient cultures have always been one of my biggest inspirations. I knew I had to create something special to photograph on my trip. When I remembered the reptilian scaled leathers on the Oddity Luxe EQTs that I chopped in Zurich I knew immediately it was time to create a sneaker mask inspired by my favorite Mesoamerican deity, Quetzalcoatl.” – Freehand Profit

EQT Quetzalcoatl Mask by Freehand Profit

*The parrot feathers featured on this mask are naturally molted, no birds were harmed in the creation of this mask.

Music provided by Zodiak Killa

The EQT Quetzalcoatl mask was unveiled at Sneaker Fever 2017 in Mexico City. See more from Freehand Profit’s experience at Sneaker Fever, click here.

For more photos of the mask be sure to sign up for the Freehand Profit email list, CLICK HERE to sign up!

Leave a Reply

