No.136: adidas EQT Support 93/17 Mask

adidas EQT Support 93/17 Mask by Freehand Profit

“My love for sneakers comes from my life long love of Hip-Hop and Hip-Hop culture. I grew up firmly believing in the 4 elements (Graffiti/DJing/Breaking/MCing) and that the 5th element was participation. It wasn’t enough to listen, Hip-Hop is a community as well as a culture so it’s important to add to it. This is as true of community and culture in general as it is of subcultures. And as a visual artist I was drawn to graffiti and fashion. In middle school and high school I was writing graffiti, that’s where the name ‘Freehand Profit’ originated from. I earned a merit scholarship to an art college in DC, one I would have lost if I had gotten caught at any point. So I put my spray cans on ice so not to jeopardize my education. Probably for the best, my blackbook work was always better than my can control. I saw sneakers and their mix of materials and colors in much the same way I saw the textures and colors in graffiti. The masks I make now are really the organic conclusion of a lifetime devoted to art & Hip-Hop. Sneakers, especially adidas, have been hugely influential ever since Run DMC had a stadium of fans holding their shelltoes above their heads. The sneaker is an icon of Hip-Hop culture so I am re-imagining that icon.” – Freehand Profit

WEB Sneakerheads_Round1_Edit8

Seven new masks made from adidas Originals sneakers are now on display with @adidasNYC at 115 Spring St. The exhibit, titled “SNEAKERHEADS by FREEHAND PROFIT”, will be up through 3/21.

adidas EQT Support 93/17 Mask by Freehand Profit
The 136th sneaker mask created by Freehand Profit. Made from 2 pairs of adidas EQT Support 93/17 . Find out more about the work on FREEHANDPROFIT.com. On display at adidas SOHO 3/2017!

Today’s release is the 5th this week and there are even more to come! Stay tuned here and on FREEHANDPROFIT.com for all the recent Freehand Profit news.

 

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

