New Release! No. 125: Sport Blue III Gas Mask

Sport Blue Jordan 3 Gas Mask by Freehand Profit
The 125th sneaker mask created by Freehand Profit. Made from a single pair of Sport Blue IIIs. Created for @Figgs8and9 of @8and9 Clothing (8and9.com). Find out more about the work on FREEHANDPROFIT.com.

“Each mask I create reflects its own heroes and demons – because within each of us, and therefore as a society as a whole, we constantly search for our humanity between our hopes and fears. Our modern culture is not without rituals, these masks and the sacrifice of coveted sneakers are a way of examining my own sins of materialism while breaking past them and re-purposing them for the sake of art and expression.  The masks represent a culture obsessed with opulence while trying to save its soul. The question remains, can we truly be fly if our conscience is weighing us down?”

-Freehand Profit

The newest mask has deep ties and really began back in December of 2011 when I showed up to SneakerCon Los Angeles with the recently created Black Cement III Gas mask. It was there that I first met BC3 aficionado, Ray “Figgs” of 8 & 9, once I saw their “Real Heads Rock Their Kicks” tee I knew I had to use it for my photo shoot.

Black Cement Jordan 3 Gas Mask by Freehand Profit
Click here for a look back at the Black Cement 3 Gas Mask, originally released in 2012.

That sparked my ties to Eight and Nine, a brand I consider more of a family – but like the way Roc A Fella was in 2001. I’ve had the pleasure of working with them on many projects in many capacities – from friend to creative to collaborator. For nearly 2 years I also toured SneakerCon alongside Figgs, and it was at SneakerCon Chicago last year that someone blessed him with a pair of Sport Blue 3s – only catch was they were both lefties. Luckily standing within a few feet was someone who could help with that – me. With some well placed cuts I set out to turn a pair with two left feet into something funky you can step to.

Sport Blue Jordan 3 Gas Mask by Freehand Profit
The 125th sneaker mask created by Freehand Profit. Made from a single pair of Sport Blue IIIs. Created for @Figgs8and9 of @8and9 Clothing (8and9.com). Find out more about the work on FREEHANDPROFIT.com.

I photographed the Sport Blue 3 Gas Mask in Oakland, California with some help from Jason Seals, @EZ_mfkn_me, and another 8 & 9 Alum – @BrainGaing_Brooks. To bring it all full circle the Sport Blue 3 Gas Mask will be on display with 8&9 this Saturday 10/16/2016 at SneakerCon DMV!

Sport Blue Jordan 3 Gas Mask by Freehand Profit
The 125th sneaker mask created by Freehand Profit. Made from a single pair of Sport Blue IIIs. Created for @Figgs8and9 of @8and9 Clothing (8and9.com). Find out more about the work on FREEHANDPROFIT.com.

(Normally I make sure to head home to see fam and appear at SneakerCon but a good friend is getting married here in NorCal that day and I will sadly miss SneakerCon DMV this time around. Y’all be sure to stop by and show my boy Figgs some love and check this mask out in person! -FP)

Sport Blue Jordan 3 Gas Mask by Freehand Profit
This 8&9 tee and more available through ShopFreehand.com

Leave a Reply

