Freehand Profit & Betsy VanDeusen create Drake inspired art for DC show

We’re back at it again this month with Ackshun Jackson and his Last Saturday art show & party in Washington DC. This Saturday’s show is based around the 6 God himself, Drake.

Ackshun Jackson & Friends presents:
LAST SATURDAY
a monthly live Art Show Party
THE DRAKE ART SHOW PARTY in DC !

21 and up
8pm – 2am
FREE but donations welcome 8pm – 10pm
$20 after 10pm and don’t complain about the price because you can come before 10pm😉

art show starts at 8pm, party starts at 10pm

“For the month of February, we wanna dedicate this art show party to one of my personal favorites, Drizzy-Drake! Hate him or love him, we’re about to make some legendary artworks, so don’t miss out” – Michelle Sichanthavong

Here’s what Freehand Profit and his wife, Betsy VanDeusen, came up with:

Freehand Profit: I know, y’all was hoping I’d chop some OVO 10s for this show. Hell I was hoping that too but like plenty of you can commiserate with, I gots no OVOs lol. That’ll have to wait but  in the meantime I needed to come up with something fresh. It wasn’t easy coming up with something I was really sold on. I ain’t got nothing against Drake or his music or his fans but 9 times out of 10 it’s just not my speed. I know he can kill it and so he has my respect. Drizzy killed it with “Back to Back”, and the fact that he used a visual metaphor as the album art really won me over. The line “Yeah, trigger fingers turn to Twitter fingers…” really resonated with me. Growing up listening to ’90s Hip-Hop was an entirely different mentality so seeing rappers bitch and moan on social networks these days is surreal. Don’t get me wrong, I get it, we are all human and sometimes our imperfections show – but damn Meek… you played yourself.

“Twitter Fingers” by Freehand Profit is available as limited edition, luxuriously rich metal prints starting at just $50!

IG Twitter Fingers Final
“Twitter Fingers” by Freehand Profit. Available on ShopFreehand.com

 

Betsy VanDeusen: “‘You used to call me on my shell phone, but ever since I left the sea, you, you, you- You and me we just don’t get along…’

I heard the husband listening to Drake’s “Hotline Bling” while I was working on one of my mermaid sculptures, and it wasn’t long before I found myself humming along, but switching a few key words…

Ever since I left the SEA you
Got a reputation for yourself now
Everybody knows and I feel left out
Girl you got me down, you got me stressed out
Cause ever since I left the SEA, you
Started wearing less and goin’ out more
Glasses of champagne out on the dance floor
Hangin’ with some girls I’ve never seen before

You used to call me on my SHELL phone
Late night when you need my love
Call me on my SHELL phone
Late night when you need my love
I know when that hotline bling
That can only mean one thing

…and then I couldn’t get it out of my head! I kept thinking about this mermaid who had left the sea… maybe she was in a big fish tank on display somewhere, complete with a treasure chest bubbler, and a “Scuba Drake,” posing for iPhone selfies and getting a reputation for herself… She could be trashing the ocean, drinking sodas and eating canned tuna… With her suicidal fish companion, her only lifeline is the sound of crashing waves from inside a shell… ”

Betsy’s “You Used to Call Me on My Shell Phone” is a 12 x 18 watercolor, the original is for sale as are fine art prints. Available now on her online shop : betsyshop.bigcartel.com

You Used to Call Me On Your Shell Phone - Betsy VanDeusen 2016

Leave a Reply

