NEW RELEASE! The Freehand Files: No.79 Freegum 9 x ROM Gas Mask

The 79th sneaker mask created by Freehand Profit. Made from 1 pair of custom Lebron 9 Freegums by ROM. Find out more about the work on FREEHANDPROFIT.com.
The 79th sneaker mask created by Freehand Profit. Made from 1 pair of custom Lebron 9 Freegums by ROM. Find out more about the work on FREEHANDPROFIT.com.

The 79th sneaker mask is a first of it’s kind – a collaboration with sneaker customizer ROM. Inspired by a pair of custom LeBron 9 Freegums that ROM painted for him, @dubstepslap415 decided he had to have the mask to match! So he tracked down another pair of Freegum 9s and sent them off to me first to meet my Chopping Block. Once dissected I sent the massacre to ROM who gave the pieces the same treatment he previously gave to the intact customs. Once the paint had dried the parts were back off to my lab for reassembly. I also painted the lens and canister to match ROM’s masterful strokes; for the lens I designed a pattern out in advance featuring my PROFIT ambigram and for the canister I did it “freehand”.

The 79th sneaker mask created by Freehand Profit. Made from 1 pair of custom Lebron 9 Freegums by ROM. Find out more about the work on FREEHANDPROFIT.com.
The 79th sneaker mask created by Freehand Profit. Made from 1 pair of custom Lebron 9 Freegums by ROM. Find out more about the work on FREEHANDPROFIT.com.

Did you know introverts truly do have thinner skin? Not just in the assumed metaphoric sense that we’re always told to “toughen up” and “develop thicker skin” – but people with an introverted personality actually tend to have scientifically thinner skin. Less of a barrier between them and the world, and I should say “us” because I too am an introvert. In some ways these masks represent an armor, something to protect my inner self from a noxious world. Sneakers, and style in general, have long been a form of transforming extrovert armor for me. I never desired the spot light but have always feared going unnoticed. This dichotomy would make sense to Susan Cain, author of “Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking” who explains that people who are born as introverts are pushed to change themselves to fit an extrovert-centered society that values personality over character. All spawning from that classic self help book “How to Win Friends and Influence People” – which taught us modest mouths go hungry. The art I make is a translation of that through my exploration of self, ironically creating masks to unveil a better understanding of my own identity.

One Comment Add yours

  1. William Larkin jr says:

    How much would a mask cost if y’all selling them and How would I go about ordering one

Leave a Reply

