NEW RELEASE! The Freehand Files No.85 University Blue V Gas Mask

The 85th sneaker mask created by Freehand Profit. Made from 1 pair of Air Jordan Vs. Find out more about the work on FREEHANDPROFIT.com.
The 85th sneaker mask created by Freehand Profit. Made from 1 pair of Air Jordan Vs. Find out more about the work on FREEHANDPROFIT.com.

Kicking off a mask heavy October with another release – leading up to the release of my 100th sneaker mask on October 29th! Skipping ahead a few to keep you on your toes, here’s the 85th sneaker mask!

The University Blue V Gas Mask is made from a single pair of 2006 Jordan Vs. The mulptiple teeth bearing horns you see are actually cast resin parts. I made them by making molds of the chopped Jordans, like I also did for the sole on the bottom of the air canister.ย This allowed me to swap the Jumpan logo out and add the Freehand Profit FP Dollar Sign logo. The mask has a SubZero influence which I chose to capture with the icicle like horns fanning out from the temples.

The 85th sneaker mask created by Freehand Profit. Made from 1 pair of Air Jordan Vs. Find out more about the work on FREEHANDPROFIT.com.
The 85th sneaker mask created by Freehand Profit. Made from 1 pair of Air Jordan Vs. Find out more about the work on FREEHANDPROFIT.com.

Modeled by Sebastian Bleakย (fellow Fat Chance Crew member & founder), the mask was made from a single pair of Jordan Vs and was shot in Burbank, CA. The seedy motel shots are for me a personal reference to University Blue, what I call Carolina Blue. Reminescent of high school motel parties thrown in Manassas, VA – not far from where I grew up, Carolina Blue was actually my high school’s colors (Centreville Wildcats). Maybe that explains why I never had much school spirit, personally I don’t think I can wear light blue without looking like a preteen – even now with a full beard and silver streaked mohawk. In my mind, Carolina Blue also speaks to the 1970s – hence the vintage jacket found at a thrift shop. All in all those 3 photos are an exploration of personal understandings of color and developing my use of settings and props to unfold a narrative.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

