NEW RELEASE! The Freehand Files: No.68 3M SB Dunks Gas Mask

The 68th sneaker mask created by Freehand Profit. Made from 2 pairs of 3M Nike SB Dunks. Find out more about the work on FREEHANDPROFIT.com.
The 68th sneaker mask created by Freehand Profit. Made from 2 pairs of 3M Nike SB Dunks. Find out more about the work on FREEHANDPROFIT.com.

The 68th sneaker mask was created in 2013 although never officially released, saved originally as an exclusive for my next art book. It has built in bendable wires, allowing for the wearer/owner to reshape the “wings/ears”, the mask features a built in pair of Technics headphones and was built using 2 pairs of shoes (instead of my standard – 1 pair required).

When I developed/discovered my current artistic process (sneaker gas masks) it was because I wanted to have fun. I was almost 6 months into MASK365 when I began hunting for materials that meant something to me. I painted most of my life, but paint didn’t hold any power over me. I did it because that’s what the world thinks art is – paintings. By the time I hit middle school I was painting for a different reason, because it was the artform of Hip-Hop – graffiti. I dare you to find an art form/movement that is more “fun” than graffiti. It’s active, it’s vibrant, it’s alive. It’s about going different places, it’s about being. I wanted to find that in a new way…. like a junkie hunting for a new high.

The 68th sneaker mask created by Freehand Profit. Made from 2 pairs of 3M Nike SB Dunks. Find out more about the work on FREEHANDPROFIT.com.
The 68th sneaker mask created by Freehand Profit. Made from 2 pairs of 3M Nike SB Dunks. Find out more about the work on FREEHANDPROFIT.com.

The thing I tend to lose sight of is that the best motivator for me is creating artwork that is fun. Fun to make, fun to look at, fun to think about. Seriousness and consciousness have their place but if you really want to make an impact on this fucked up blue marble then bringing enjoyment into the world is a great way to start. Part of the power of Banksy is his satiracal whimsy, his Dismaland was so fitting because in a lot of ways he’s like a punk rock Walt Disney. The best revolutionary messages contain the tone of hope, Martin’s “I Have A Dream”, like Tupac’s “Changes.

See how it all connects? Fun can be a revolutionary act. Maybe not across society but a smaller revolution, a personal one – is obtainable.

Leave a Reply

