The Freehand Files: No.62 University Blue XIII Gas Mask

The 62nd sneaker mask created by Freehand Profit. Made from 1 pairs of Air Jordan XIII (13) Neutral Grey / University Blue from 2005. This mask from 2013 was commissioned by Reggie Williams, star guard of the Houston Rockets. Find out more about the work on FREEHANDPROFIT.com.
The 62nd sneaker mask created by Freehand Profit. Made from 1 pairs of Air Jordan XIII (13) Neutral Grey / University Blue from 2005. This mask from 2013 was commissioned by Reggie Williams, star guard of the Houston Rockets. Find out more about the work on FREEHANDPROFIT.com.

Created in 2013 for Reggie Williams of the Houston Rockets but wasn’t released online until June 18, 2014. the University Blue XIII Gas Mask is my 62nd sneaker mask but only my 2nd Jordan 13 mask.

It hasn’t been easy for me remastering photos of previous work each day. As an artist I’m often my own worst critic so facing demons from my past can feel like sinking in thick quicksand. The process is important howeverNot only for me to better organize my existing body of work as I prepare to create my next art book, but it is a great way to give context to my 100th mask releasing late next month. I’m sure there are plenty of people who are familiar with the work but every day new people are exposed to my art and it’s my job to help educate them. Each mask is created for a number of conceptual reasons, some speak to an issue I’m addressing, some are an exploration of shapes, colors and materials. The University Blue XIII Gas Mask is the latter, a reimagining of the elements that define the Jordan 13 into a mask the represents the character within the shoe’s design.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

