Eights Always Come Late…

July 9, 2010 – Octopus G.A.S. Mask

If you’re just tuning into my blog folks here’s the nitty gritty of it.  MASK365 is a project inspired by Skull A Day in which I will be creating a one of a kind mask every day for a year.  You may notice that I label some of the mask G.A.S., which stands for Guerrilla Art Squadron (another series of work of mine).

Badhex released a fascinating blog yesterday entitled ‘Ten Things I Love About Octopodes’.  You should really check it out.  For example, I had no idea that “as of 2009, they are the only invertebrate to have beenobserved using tools – a trait once only thought to be human.”

I had heard of the deadly blue-ringed octopus and its notoriously toxic venom but I did not know that all octopodes are venomous.  So wait a second… let’s tally that up.  They are venomous, ink squirting, hard beaked, camoflauge wearing, eight-armed, tool using invertabrates… sounds like the Predator of the Sea.  That earns a gold star of awesomeness in my book.

-Freehand Profit

One Comment Add yours

  1. Ashley says:

    You need to put this on a Tee for sure!!!

Leave a Reply

