Freehand Profit presents the Boba Fett SB Helmet from #RISEoftheUNDS

The galaxy’s most infamous bounty hunter gets the sneakerhead treatment. Just in time for “May the Fourth Be With You”, Freehand Profit presents the highly anticipated Boba Fett SB Helmet, made from 3 pairs of Nike SB Dunk HIs. 

This piece is for sale. All inquiries please contact info@rswdsd.com.

On April 19th my first solo show opened at Rosewood San Diego. I had been looking forward to my first official solo show at a gallery since high school, when the opportunity arose at @RSWDSD ( half sneaker consignment shop/ half art gallery in San Diego) I knew I had to step my game up. This was the chance I had been waiting for and I wouldn’t settle for less than mind blowing. It was time to make my long time dream of creating a Boba Fett helmet from sneakers a concrete goal – I now had a deadline set for myself. Hell or high water, the Boba Fett SB helmet must be complete for “Rise of the Undeadstock”.

Boba Fett SB Helmet by Freehand Profit

It was no easy task, especially not after setting the bar so high with the Adidas Superskate Stormtrooper helmet. After all the Stormtrooper did a lot to make the name Freehand Profit synonymous with “whoa…” – it was featured on sneaker blogs like KicksOnFire & SneakerNews as well as G4’s Attack of the Blog, Playboy, Juxtapoz, the Australian News (news.com.au) & many more. I did my best to push all of that noise out of my mind, the real joy was underneath all those layers. Being a lifelong Hip-Hop head and Star Wars fanatic, this was a labor of love – a reflection of self as much as a reflection of the world around me.

Boba Fett SB Helmet by Freehand Profit

Like most sneakerheads on IG, I follow a number of ‘sneakers for sale’ feeds – my eyes glued to square after square, hunting for size 11s at the right price. To the dismay of my bank account, there are a lot of opportunities to pick up pairs for retail or less – especially if you don’t mind them UNDS (worn). And considering I take pride in wearing my collection, lightly worn works just fine for me. Still, I had given up finding pairs of the ‘Boba Fett’ Nike SB Dunk HIs from 2008- it seemed like no one was selling them. I assumed no one in their right mind would give up such a great piece of SB Gold… then a pair appeared… and at a price I didn’t even flinch at. I realized with all the hype and the market flooded with newbies after ‘nothing but HEAT’, some folks gave up selling shoes that weren’t South Beach Lebrons, Tiffany SBs or Jordan Retros. I was lucky and ecstatic to find 4 pairs from great folks all across the country – some by trade some by cold cash money. I set 2 aside for the mask, and a wishful thinking 2 for me. Anytime I start a big project like the Stormtrooper or Boba Fett helmets I know I’ll need more material than a “standard” sneaker gas mask. I aim to do each piece with as few pairs as possible to avoid waste, for the Boba Fett helmet it could’ve been done with just 2 pairs. I saw more potential in sacrificing a 3rd pair for the sake of certain design elements in the finished piece. Very happy with the results, and just as happy with a single pair in my rotation.

If you’d like to know more about the work, take a quick look at the artist statement I wrote for “Rise of the Undeadstock”. For a more in-depth understanding browse through the Interviews & Publications page, or flip through some recent releases by simply clicking here.

Boba Fett SB Helmet by Freehand Profit

Prints of the Boba Fett SB Helmet are available from RosewoodSanDiego.com. These art prints are archival fine art photo prints, signed & numbered by the artist. Limited Edition: 12x18s (only 100) , 20x30s (only 25)

Despite running right up to the last week before the show, I still couldn’t bring myself to cut corners. When I wasn’t happy with the base helmet’s visor I took the extra time and headaches to create a custom lens using Lexan (like plexiglass but stronger). In the long run it was worth it but it still meant the photo shoot didn’t happen until the Tuesday before the show. Lucky for me I have a beautiful & talented fiance, Betsy VanDeusen, who helped turn a last minute, stressful photo shoot into an ideal hike through a trail in Thousand Oaks, CA – she even packed us up a picnic (defintion of a keeper lol). She helped me capture the Boba Fett SB helmet exactly how I had imagined it. Otherworldly yet so real you can feel the arid alien air.

Stay blessed! – FP

Be sure to check out more pics in the gallery below!

6 thoughts on “Freehand Profit presents the Boba Fett SB Helmet from #RISEoftheUNDS

Leave a Reply

